Woodside Avenue, London, N10 3JA

0208 883 6540

St James C of E Primary School

Learning to live, living to learn, learning from Christ

Our Governors


Our governors are all volunteers and representatives of the local community, parents, staff and the church.  They bring a range of interests, knowledge and skills.  They are responsible for overseeing the organisation, curriculum and budgets of the school and offering support whilst the day-to-day running of the school is entrusted to the Head and her staff.  They help to set the school’s strategic direction, ensure accountability and act as a ‘critical friend’ to the school’s senior leaders. Their guiding principle is always to ask ‘will this decision make things better for the children?’ and they play a crucial part in improving and developing the school and helping every student to achieve their potential.

They meet once a term as a full governing body, but also sit on a number of sub committees that have responsibilities for Curriculum and Standards, Admissions, Finance and Premises, Home School and Staffing .

You can contact the Governors at any time by emailing them at or leave a message at the School Office.

Our Chair and Vice Chair

Jonathan Gardner is our Chair of Governors and Chair of the Staffing comittee.  He is the father of James who is at the school and Naomi who has recently left us.  He is also on the Parochial Church Council of St James Church.  Jonathan is a senior manager in the NHS and has a background in the Civil Service and private business.  He enjoys bringing his business acumen and entrepreneurial spirit to the Governing Board, Staffing and Premises and Finance committees.  His subject link is IT.  Jonathan is a Deanery Governor and his term runs until June 2021

Estelle Addy is our newly elected Vice Chair and Chair of Admissions. She also sits on the Home School committee. She has two children who were at St James Primary and are now at secondary school. Estelle is also the subject link Governor for Science, our BAME governor and our STEM governor. She is a Deanary Governor and her term runs until June 2021. Estelle is also our safeguarding and child protection link Governor.



Governor Newsletters

Autumn term 2019


Remaining dates for Governors meetings 2019 - 2020

,Thursday 16th July



Declaration Of Interests

In the interests of transparency, it is important that all our Governors declare all business and pecuniary interests and that we publish any on our website.  You can find more information here


To find out more about our Governors attendance at Governor meeting, please click  here


Past Governors

The following Governors stepped down from the Governing body.  We thank them for their energy, time, support and commitment.

Janet Owen, Simon Cuthbertson, Justin Gowen (2019 - 2020)

Carol Lea-Robbins, Natasha Lewis, Emma France (2017-2018)

Kim Ewart (2016-17)

Gaz Daly, Helen Stansfeld, Hugh Reynolds (2015-16)

Our Governors

Louisa Hudson is Chair of the Curriculum committee. She also sits on the Home School committee and has a vital role as the school’s SEN Link. Her professional background is in nursing but her passion has always been music, which she now teaches locally. Music is also her link subject as a Governor.  All four of her children are at or have attended St James school.  Louisa is an LDBS Foundation Governor and her term runs until July 2020. 


Sunny Wong is our elected Parent Governor who recently joined the Governing body.  Sunny sits on our Curriculum committee and has over ten years experience in a leading law firm and prior to this, he worked for an international professional services firm. Sunny has a daughter in Year 1 at St James Primary.  His term runs until September 2022 and link subject is Literacy

Keith Guthrie is Chair of the Premises & Finance and sits on the Admissions committee. He works in investments at pension-fund management firm Cardano in the City. He is married to Ruth and has one son who has just gone into Year 7. The family are all active members of St James Church.  Keith is a PCC Governor and he subject link Governor for Maths and his term runs until December 2021.


Louise Posocco is our PCC Governor who sits on the Curriculum and Standards Committee and our Finance Committee. Louise has three children, with the two eldest attending St James school. Louise works locally at the education charity Ambitious about Autism and she brings to the governing body her experience from the charity sector with a specialism in not-for-profit finance. Louise is the link Governor for Art.  Her term runs until June 2022

Rev Mark Murthen is a vicar at St James Church and is our Ex Officio Foundation Governor.  He has spent the last three years working at a church in Bolton and prior to training for ministry he worked as a civil servant.  Mark is originally from Haringey and is married to Lisa - together they have a daughter. Mark sits on the Admissions, Staffing and Curriculum and Standards committees and has responsibility for RE and British Values at our school.  


Piran Dhillon-Starkings is newly appointed LA Governors and has a background in politics and public affairs and is currently the Advisor to the Chair of the Bar Council. Prior to this, she led the public affairs department at the Association of Colleges and focused on government and parliamentary relations. She is also a governor at the College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London (CONEL) and has worked for an MEP, MP and political party. Piran sits on the Staffing committee and is the link Governor for MFL and her term runs September 2023.






Our Associate Governors

Gareth Davies is a newly appointed Associate Governor and sits on our Finance and Premises committee.  He is a trained Charted Accountant and has spent the past 20 years helping companies with their finances.  He is married to Claire and they have a son at St James.  Gareth is our governor responsible for Health and Safety and his link subject is Geography.  His term runs until September 2021.

Our Staff Governors

Carol O’Brien, as Head teacher at St James Primary, is a member of all our sub committees. 


 Pat Brady is our Teaching and Learning Manager and is an Associate Governor.

Penny Kirkley is our Business Manager and sits on the Home School committee.  Her term runs until September 2021.

To see our Governor attendance records for 2017 - 2018, please click here

To see our Governors' attendance record for 2016-17 at full Governors and committee meetings, please click here

To see our Governors' attendance record for 2015-16 at full Governors and committee meetings, please click here